a tile alphabet

Continuing. I have 30 tiles to work with. (not shown in the original order)

tile grid © 2016 revad david riley
tile grid © 2016 revad david riley

I have a standard grid for my alphabets.

standard-alphabet-grid-copyright-by-revad-david-riley

Strictly speaking the 1, 2 and 3 are not part of my standard grid and the # represents the space, which I like to locate in the middle. There are several reasons for laying the alphabet out this way, but I’ll save those for another time.

With the addition of the 1, 2 and 3, I have 30 positions for my 30 tiles.

tessellated tile alphabet © 2016 revad david riley
tessellated tile alphabet © 2016 revad david riley

The tiles in position 1, 2 and 3 have not been given a role in my alphabet as yet, but they could substitute for other punctuation characters (for example). For this alphabet set, I have adjusted the design to suit a set of Moo Lux business cards. A set of cards I had made with the alphabet tiles printed on the back. Here is a snapshot of my journal showing the cards.

tile cards © 2016 revad david riley
tile cards © 2016 revad david riley

They make for a highly portable transient installation kit. Something else I may return to later.

Of course, the tiles can be looked at in many other ways. Here are two adjusted sets.

First, in black and white only, where the symbols and connectors become one.

tessellated tile alphabet (mono) © 2016 revad david riley
tessellated tile alphabet (mono) © 2016 revad david riley

Second, as black on white symbols without connections. This version looks much more like a font, but lacks the connective nature of the original tile set.

tessellated tile alphabet (sans connectors) © 2016 revad david ri
tessellated tile alphabet (sans connectors) © 2016 revad david ri

At some point I will post some outcomes from using the business card tile set.


			

4 thoughts on “a tile alphabet

  1. I want so much for the connected ones to be mazes, probably because I enjoy drawing mazes so that they either can’t be “solved” or have so many “solutions” that they overwhelm with options. My eyes are tracking through the various pathways in your images just to see how they’d be. 🙂
    Like those business cards! What a wonderful idea!
    And yes, the unconnected ones do look more like fonts, prickly ones. I’ve been trying to arrange my fingers into the configurations, just to see if they could be a sign language.
    Facsinating, Dave!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m going to post some other outcomes while I work on what further to do with the tiles. I also want o make a frame (for want of a better name) to allow me to easily swap and group cards for display. That requires a bit of woodworking, so it might take a while, or never happen at all.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.