video editing tools

To check-out Blender and VideoPad I set up a trial to produce a simple five second short abstract video with sound, and then exhibit the outcome on my Instagram account (also embedded below).

For the trial I wanted to:

  1. take a five second clip from a camera shot real-world video;
  2. break this clip down into a sequence of still frames;
  3. export the frames as a sequence;
  4. process each frame in the sequence using a custom Photoshop action;
  5. import the updated frame sequence;
  6. add a separately recorded audio track;
  7. fade in and out both the video and the audio;
  8. export the finished video as an mp4 video;
  9. exhibit a cropped to square version on my Instagram account.

Blender

After about an hour of working with Blender, I had organised a usable layout (based on the tutorial mentioned in a comment to my last post). I then became stuck and unable to synchronise the video track and an imported WAV audio track. Despite editing them to the same length and the audio track showing a waveform right to the end of the clip, the sound appeared to play faster than the video and ran out a couple of seconds before the end. After a couple more hours of head scratching, I decided to set Blender to one side and take a look at VideoPad.

VideoPad

An entirely different proposition. No need to set-up the user interface. VideoPad is entirely focused on video editing and the user interface is clear and focused on the job. After about a half hour I had breezed through my nine step process and had my video on exhibit at Instagram.

Conclusion

Trying to wrangle Blender, to do what I needed it to do, kept getting in the way. I don’t want to spend my time tracking down why something isn’t doing what I expected it to do (the audio sync problem), even if the error was mine and not Blender’s.

In contrast, VideoPad did exactly what I wanted it to do and in a way I could easily understand. I didn’t even need to consult a manual or a video tutorial (my experience with QuickTime and Adobe Premiere Elements being sufficient).

Now, this might say more about me and my experience than it does about the tools, but I am here to make the outcomes I want to make and not to become embroiled in the idiosyncrasies of any one specific product.

So, I have spent a little cash and purchased a full licence for VideoPad.

I have not given up on Blender entirely. I will experiment further. I am especially interested in its use of Python as a scripting language and I may try to produce some scripted 3D outcomes in the future.

2 thoughts on “video editing tools

  1. Videos! Great news! I think I tried Blender a long time ago, don’t recall being able to do much with it. VideoPad sounds good. So you’re going to make videos again – ? YAY!!!!! I enjoyed the “five-second movies” experience from a few years ago so much. You guys really inspired me, Dave. Looking forward to seeing your new video work! Are they all on Instagram? I haven’t visited that site since – ummmm – the beginning of December. Maybe earlier. Will check it out soon! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The old five second videos from 2011 (another life) made a short appearance on instagram, but have since been taken down. Since getting VideoPad, I have been distracted by the tricolour enquiry, but I will get back to video at some point. I also have a vimeo account at https://vimeo.com/codedimages with some abstract kinetic outcomes.

      Like

Comments are closed.